Not All In

We join Greater Cleveland Congregations and Oppose the Q Renovation Deal #NOTALLIN

Late last year, it was announced that the Quicken Loans Arena would be seeking public funds to upgrade their facility. This renovation will likely cost, including interest, $282 million, with $160 million coming from public sources. The proposed rehab of the Q is an opportunity for the people of Cleveland and Cuyahoga County to end their silence and start to be citizens instead of spectators to the decisions impacting their communities.

This is an opportunity to break with a past where such projects are routinely rubber stamped. When RTA is facing more rate hikes and service cuts, the City of Cleveland just raised income tax to make payroll, and many neighborhoods around the county are still in decline… We deem this renovation to be a breach of public trust and a gross misuse of public funds. We will not stand by while those elected to lead us redefine progress as working people subsidizing billionaires.

We are actively organizing to prevent this deal and would like to encourage everyone to join us at the next County Council meeting, Tuesday, February 14th (2079 E 9th St @5pm.) While we are #ALLIN and support our champions, the Cleveland Cavaliers, we are NOT ALL IN when it comes to backroom deals to spend down Northeast Ohio’s future. Please, contact your County Council person and relay your concern about this deal.

Cuyahoga County Council Contact Information:

District 3: Dan Brady, President (216) 698-2014  dbrady@cuyahogacounty.us 

District 8: Pernel Jones, Jr., Vice-President (216) 698-2019  pjones@cuyahogacounty.us 

District 1: Nan Baker  (216) 698-2047  nbaker@cuyahogacounty.us

District 2: Dale Miller (216) 698-2011  damiller@cuyahogacounty.us

District 4: Scott Tuma (216) 698-2013  stuma@cuyahogacounty.us

District 5: Michael J. Gallagher (216) 698-2015  mjgallagher@cuyahogacounty.us

District 6: Jack Schron (216) 698-2016   jschron@cuyahogacounty.us

District 7: Yvonne M. Conwell (216) 698-2017  yconwell@cuyahogacounty.us

District 9: Shontel Brown (216) 698-2023  sbrown@cuyahogacounty.us

District 10: Anthony T. Hairston (216) 698-2022  ahairston@cuyahogacounty.us

District 11: Sunny M. Simon (216) 698-2035  ssimon@cuyahogacounty.us

For more information, visit our Website cuycpc.org/notallin or call Steve Holecko @ 440-220-1874